New Teen Romances

One of my first posts on this blog last year was Stand-out Teen Romances, and I thought I’d reprise the post with a few new titles for those who want to spend Valentine’s Day curled up with a good book.

I can’t not mention Stephanie Perkins’ latest, Lola and the Boy Next Door.  This follow-up to Anna and the French Kiss, which I included in last year’s post, is every bit as good as the first book.  Anna and St. Clair take secondary roles in this story, which features Lola—a girl who never wears the same costume twice.  Yes, I said costume.  He wardrobe goes way beyond outfits.  But underneath the wigs and fabric, Lola is just a girl with a crush on the boy next door.  It’s complicated, of course.  Lola has a boyfriend, for one.  There’s a history between them, for another.  Not to mention, there’s a bit of family drama to bring Lola down just when she’s getting things figured out.  Strongly recommended to fans of Anna, but even if you haven’t read that one, don’t miss Lola.

In the tradition of Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, Jennifer E. Smith offers a fast-paced romance that goes from first meeting to love in about twenty-four hours in The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight.  Hadley and Oliver meet by chance in an airport.  It turns out that they are on the same flight to London and they’ll be sitting near each other on the plane.  A few quirks of fate later and Hadley is running around London in search of Oliver to make sure they don’t lose the connection they found oh-so-randomly in the airport.  This is a book that will make you believe that true love could be around any corner.

Finally, The Future of Us is the highly anticipated sophomore effort from Jay Asher after the phenomenally successful Thirteen Reasons Why.  He teams up with Carolyn Mackler for a trip back to 1996 with two friends who get a unique glimpse into their future via Facebook.  Maybe I’m a bit biased since I was a teenager in the ’90s, but I loved the opportunity to chuckle over all the references to now outdated technology and pop culture.  Teens looking for a romantic comedy should not miss this great collaboration.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Bibliography:

The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler. November 2011.

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. September 2011.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith. January 2012.

Blogger:  Mindy R.